## PARLIAMENTARY REPRESENTATION

Parliament of Canada.—The Parliament of the Dominion of Canada consists of the Senate with 87 members and of the House of Commons with 221 members, senators being appointed for life by the Governor-General and members of the House of Commons being elected by the The ordinary legal limit of duration for each parliament is five years; but by Act of the Imperial Parliament (6-7 Geo. V., c. 19). passed June 1, 1916, and intituled an Act to amend the British North America Act, 1867, the duration of the 12th Parliament of Canada was extended until October 7, 1917 The 12th Parliament of Canada was dissolved by proclamation of the Governor General on October 6th. 1917: and preparations are now being made for the election of a new Parliament on December 17, 1917 A Redistribution Act passed after each census readjusts the number of representatives in the House of Commons in accordance with rules laid down in Section 51 of the British North America Act, 1867, of the Imperial Parliament (30-31 These rules provide that the province of Quebec shall always have the fixed number of 65 members, and that there shall be assigned to each of the other provinces such a number of members as will bear the same proportion to the number of its population (ascertained by the census) as the number 65 bears to the population of Quebec.

The Senate.—The numerical representation of the Senate by provinces is as follows: Prince Edward Island 4, Nova Scotia 10, New Brunswick 10, Quebec 24, Ontario 24, Manitoba 4, Saskatchewan 4, Alberta 4, British Columbia 3. Total 87

House of Commons.—The representation of the people in the House of Commons has been governed by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1903, 1904 and 1907 (3 Edw. VII, c. 60; 4 Edw. VII, c. 35; 6-7 Edw. VII, c. 41). The provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta were created by Acts of the Dominion Parliament passed in 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3 and 42), and after the Northwest Census of 1906 the Representation Act was amended by an Act of April 27, 1907 (6-7 Edw. VII, c. 41), which gave Saskatchewan ten members and Alberta seven members after the next ensuing election of October 26, 1908. The seven additional members thus given to Saskatchewan and Alberta brought the representation of Canada in the House of Commons up to 221 as stated above.

Representation Act, 1914.—By the Representation Act, 1914 (4-5 Geo. V, c. 51), which was assented to on June 12, 1914, and which will come into operation for the forthcoming election of the thirteenth Parliament of Canada, it is provided that the House of Commons shall consist of 234 members, distributed by provinces as follows: Prince Edward Island 3, Nova Scotia 16, New Brunswick 11, Quebec 65, Ontario 82, Manitoba 15, Saskatchewan 16, Alberta 12, British Columbia 13 and Yukon Territory 1. Table 1 shows the representation in the House of Commons according to the districts of the Representation Act, 1914.